FIP’s Golden Jubilee celebrations held on 11 & 12 August 2023

FIP celebrated the Golden Jubilee year of the federation (1973–2023) on August 11 and 12 at The Claridges in New Delhi. A two-day Indian Publishers Conference 2023 with the theme India @ 2047: Role of Publishing in Nation Building was organised to mark this occasion. The conference saw an assembly of prominent figures from the publishing industry, government, and literary community. The renowned panel of moderators and speakers added value to the conference. The event marked the contribution of the Indian publishing industry to economic development, covering different aspects in various sessions by industry experts.
Honourable Chief Guest Smriti Zubin Irani, Minister of Women and Child, Minority Affairs, Government of India, stated in her speech that it is important to realise the challenges that the publishing industry faces. She emphasised the need to promote the joy of reading for generations to come and to work collaboratively between publishers and readers to increase love for books and demand. Shri Sunil Deodhar, National Secretary (BJP), emphasised the power of knowledge and the need to learn in mother tongue languages in his speech.

The presentation of the prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award to Hon’ble Justice Prathiba Singh by Shri Asoke K. Ghosh, President Emeritus FIP, was one of the highlights of this remarkable occasion.

In recognition of Shri Asoke K. Ghosh’s contributions to the publishing industry , the Federation bestowed upon him the Indian Publishing Visionary Pioneer Award. Shri Sunil Deodhar, the National Secretary of the BJP, presented him with the award.

The Hon’ble Minister of State for External Affairs and Education, Shri Rajkumar Ranjan Singh, presided over the Publishing Awards ceremony, which was organised by the Federation of Indian Publishers as part of the conference on August 11, 2023.

To recognise and honour the publishers who contributed immensely to publishing in various Indian languages, FIP awarded and felicitated language publishers with an Outstanding Publisher Award. The honour was conferred upon 14 language publishers.

Shri Ramesh K. Mittal, Dr. Ashok Gupta, and Shri Naveen Gupta were awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award in appreciation of their leadership and direction over the Federation, while Shri Pranav Gupta became the inaugural recipient of the Outstanding Young Global Leader Award.

The conference was a big success as it brought together people from different walks of life who, with their vision, creativity, and expert knowledge, opened a new world of possibilities.